Data Layer

The Data Layer is comprised of eleven core modules:

  1. Identity: A unique peer identification, generally assigned to a single Member or device.

  2. Node: A peer in the network that establishes Transports, stream multiplexing and content routing.

  3. Message: A canonical format and signature structure for storing system state and constructing a zChain.

  4. zChain: A chain of signed Messages that is secured by a Merkle tree.

  5. Account & Avatar: A representation of account information, with the enabling capacity to combine Identities and multiple devices under a parent zChain.

  6. Network: A public or private namespace that is shared by Accounts or Identities.

  7. Clusters: A Cluster that represents two or more linked Networks.

  8. Peer Routing and Discovery: A shared format to ensure consistent addressing and data routing between Nodes within the Zero Grid.

  9. Gossip: A peer-to-peer protocol used to share messages between Nodes within the Zero Grid.

  10. zApp: A collection of one or more custom Message format and associated validation logic that enables the development and interoperability of custom Zero applications.

  11. Dyno: A peer-to-peer service (e.g. DAEMON) that peers can run and provide to the Zero Grid.